Review: Geth’s Verdict

Draft Priority: 3

Impact: 3

Stack Status: 3
Staple. It’s just a good card.

Discussion:

Diabolic Edict is one of my favourite all-around removal spells. Back in the day that none of you care about, my man had a mono-black Necropotence deck (yeah we allowed everything) that used this card to haunt my dreams. Just when thirteen-ear-old Andy was pretty sure he had the game wrapped up using Rathi Dragon and Mystic Veil in-hand for backup, this shattered any concept of personal security I ever had and to this day I trust no-one and nothing to stay stable in my life.

The original Edict is still a very good card. This is close, but got that patented post-2000 R&D touch of ‘MBS originality’ with the leeching of some life. How thoughtful. In Type 4, this is a straight upgrade to the original cool. It’s great in-a-pinch removal. Are there better cards out there? Of course. But this is another perfectly reasonable utility card that should go in just about any pile of Type 4 playables.

Overall: Three dead Rathi Dragons out of five

Leave a comment